ALEXANDER M.
SCHWEITZER

Alexander M. Schweitzer studied philosophy, Catholic theology and church music in Rome, Cremona and Munich. He served as General Secretary of the Catholic Biblical Federation and is presently the Executive Director for Bible Ministry of the United Bible Societies as well as Director of Global Bible Translation.

He specialised in Gregorian chant – both theory and praxis – since the mid-1980s. He was choir master in Sant’Anselmo, Rome and he taught numerous ensembles worldwide. Since 1998 he has been directing Consortium Vocale Oslo, with whom he has recorded seven CDs.

Schweitzer is responsible for and teaches at the AISCGre courses offered in Germany as well as in courses worldwide. He is a lecturer for Gregorian Semiology in the “Diploma of Advanced Studies” programme of the Music University of the Italian-speaking Switzerland in Lugano.

From 1999 he has been a member of the AISCGre international board of directors and from 2000 to 2012 he actively collaborated in the working group for the restoration of melodies. In 2015, he was elected president of the International Society for Studies of Gregorian Chant (AISCGre).

ALEXANDER M.
SCHWEITZER

Alexander M. Schweitzer studierte Philosophie, katholische Theologie und Kirchenmusik in Rom, Cremona und München. Er war Generalsekretär der Katholischen Bibelföderation und ist derzeit der Executive Director of Bible Ministry im Weltbund der Bibelgesellschaften sowie Director of Global Bible Translation.

Er widmete sich seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre der Theorie und Praxis des Gregorianischen Chorals. Er war Erster Kantor in Sant’Anselmo, Rom und unterrichtete zahlreiche gregorianische Ensembles. Seit 1998 leitet er das Consortium Vocale Oslo, mit dem er sieben CDs eingespielt hat.

Schweitzer ist zuständig für die von der AISCGre in Deutschland angebotenen Kurse und unterrichtet dort sowie in Kursen in aller Welt. Er ist Dozent für Gregorianische Semiologie im Diploma-of-Advanced-Studies-Programm im Konservatorium der italienischsprachigen Schweiz in Lugano.

Seit 1999 ist Schweitzer Mitglied im internationalen Vorstand der AISCGre, von 2000 bis 2012 arbeitete er aktiv in der Melodierestitutionsgruppe mit. 2015 wurde er zum Präsidenten der Internationalen Studiengesellschaft für Gregorianischen Choral (AISCGre) gewählt.